(Not So) Famous Last Words…

Well, I just sent off the letter that I signed to turn down my recall to my former district. I also sent a little piece of my mind. I thought some of you might be interested to read it.
(Note: I actually CC’d a few higher-ups and signed my full name, but in efforts to protect identity, I removed them here. You know who I’m talkin’ about!)

Dear Superintendent:

My name is Samantha. Formerly, I taught 7th Grade ELA at a wonderful middle school and I write this letter to you as a follow-up to the recall letter I received in the mail last week.

As you have probably surmised by me writing this letter, I will not be accepting my recall. This is for several reasons. One of those reasons is that I have been offered a job in another district as a Middle School Reading Teacher, a position that I am honored to take because of its importance to the students of that school and the close proximity to my house.

While I am excited to take this position and firmly believe that God has a reason for everything that happens in our lives, I have difficulty ridding myself of the ill feelings I harbor towards the district. The staff I worked with at my middle school is an extremely caring, talented group of individuals who really do put children and their educations first, so I feel nothing but sadness at leaving that group of people. I have difficulty saying this about the rest of the district, specifically those in charge at the ESC.

What has happened to the teachers in this district is nothing short of appalling. The mismanagement of funds, the shoddy politics involved in the hiring and firing of staff, and the smugness shown towards the needs and desires of the public makes me wonder how the district has kept any of its strong teachers. I had no plans to leave; I was perfectly content to stay there several more years. After what has happened, however, I thank God that His plan involved me leaving the district. I fear for the future of my fellow staff members when the contract runs up in a couple of years. Most importantly, I fear for the education my former students will receive as they move on to 8th Grade and high school.

I understand that what has happened at the state level is unprecedented and that there were bound to be changes in the district. Had there been any forethought about how this really impacted the district, however, there would have been hundreds of teachers, including myself, who would not have been laid off. How could over 300 teachers be laid off, only for over 1/3 of them to be called back several months later? In the decisions you make in the future, I respectfully ask that you truly DO consider your mantra “Every Child Matters.” I feel that many decisions made in the last year were not done to improve the lives of every child in the district.

Sincerely,

Samantha

3 responses to “(Not So) Famous Last Words…

  1. Samantha-I was honored to have worked with you and believe you ARE in a better place. Best of luck to you-your future students are very lucky to have you teach/mentor and care for them!

  2. Samantha,
    You are an awesome, caring, incredible teacher and the children who are lucky enough to become your students are blessed. Like the old counrty song goes “some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.” Good luck to you and your family.

  3. Jenni Schuessler

    Well said Sammi!

Leave a Reply

