Things I Borrowed from Other People

Several of you have asked for some recipes.  They are all ones that I’ve borrowed from other people, so I will give them credit here!

Homemade Yogurt:
From Things I Did Right (friend’s blog)!  It is delicious and less than half the price of buying the little containers of yogurt.  Plus, you can pick your flavors depending on your mood of the day and avoid fake sweeteners.  Here’s what I’ve tried – Banana Chocolate Chip, Honey Almond, Blueberry, and Peach. All highly recommended!

Homemade Quaker Granola Bars:
From The Color of Contentment (friend’s blog)! I would say these are even better than the Homemade NutriGrain bars from a couple weeks ago.  She’s got some great suggestions for flavors you can make.  The first batch, I decided on a Smore flavor (mini marshmallows, chocolate chips, crunched up graham crackers).  It was amazing, but a little too sweet and squishy because I chose honey as my “liquid sugar”.  Second batch (which I brought to Bible study and came home with none) was peanut butter chocolate chip.  I used light corn syrup as my “liquid sugar”, half butter and half peanut butter for my “fat”, and some extra oats with crushed peanuts and chocolate chips for my “bulk”.  Yum!  Next batch will be an attempt at “Blueberry Muffin” flavor (cinnamon, dried blueberries, not sure what else…)

No-Bake Cookies (AKA Cow Pie Cookies):
This is from my wonderful mother and was a favorite at my house growing up.  It is now a favorite of my gluten-free friends and I have a friend who is going to try subbing in a non-peanut peanut butter for her peanut-allergic child.  Here’s the recipe!
2 C. white sugar
1/2 C. cocoa
1 stick margarine (butter works fine too)
1/2 C. milk
1/2 C. peanut butter (I use chunky)
3 C. instant oatmeal
1 tsp. vanilla

Add the first 4 ingredients together.  Boil for one minute. (This is very important to melt the sugar.  Otherwise, the cookies are grainy and not as good.)  Remove from heat.  Add peanut butter, vanilla, oatmeal and nuts.  Drop by spoonsfuls on wax paper. Let sit for at least an hour or until cool and solidified.

 

Leave a Reply

